Change warning text on Change Username page to provide more concise information

Description

1. Log in
2. Hi, username! > My Preferences > Change My User Name

The warning at the top of the Change My User Name Page is misleading, and means users panic thinking that their bookmarks & works will be deleted.

It currently says:

Please use this feature with caution. We will not redirect your old user name to your new one. Bookmarks and external links to your user page and your pseud pages under the old name will no longer work and the old name may be used by someone else unless all you are changing is capitalization.

Please update it to the following:

Activity

Show:
Lady Oscar
September 30, 2017, 4:55 PM

Looks good to me, too!

Sarken
September 25, 2017, 11:50 PM

https://test.archiveofourown.org/users/testy/change_username now says "series, or collections" – looks good!

Lady Oscar
September 24, 2017, 8:20 AM

Went to Preferences, then chose "Change My User Name". Yellow box now says:

"Please use this feature with caution. For information on how changing your user name will affect your account, please check out the Account FAQ. Note that changes to your username may take several days or longer to appear. If you are still seeing your old user name on your works, bookmarks, series, and collections after a week, please contact Support."

"Account FAQ" is a link to https://test.archiveofourown.org/faq/your-account?language_id=en#namechange
"contact Support" is a link to https://test.archiveofourown.org/support

Looks correct!

[Personally, I would say "or collections" rather than "and", since the user doesn't necessarily have all of the listed items, and the caching issue might hit some but not others.]

DeployedToBeta

Assignee

tuff

Reporter

Sammie Louise

Roadmap

Users

Priority

Medium

Affects versions

Fix versions

Components

FrontEnd

Difficulty

Easy

Milestone

Internal 0.9